Oscar Fashion; A Little Midnight Snack of My Best/Worst Dressed

Standard

I had a lot of fun today dishing Oscar fashion with my girlfriends on Facebook. Yes, I went back to Facebook :::sheepish grin:::  I never actually watch the award show itself, but I absolutely love the carpet show and in the case of the E! Channel on Oscar day, the pre-award show. I actually got to see Jose Eber do a starlet’s hair on that one, and he is just as fabulous as he ever was when he tells a freshly coiffed client to “Shake your head, darling”. 

So, without further ado, here are my picks for Oscar 2012 Red Carpet, Best & Worst Dressed. And why…because with me, you always get a why…

The Best of Times….

Image

Penelope Cruz took my breath away in this blue gray, off the shoulder gown. It was elegant, luminous, and so very Oscar appropriate! I loved her hair (a little 40’s thing goin’ on there), her makeup, and her accessories. Aside from a little wrinklage on the carpet from having been in the limo, she was perfection. Besides, we have minions to follow behind us and steam those out before we go into the auditorium, don’t we? She looks like a young Sophia Loren…

And the Worst of Times…

Image

True to form, the talking fashion heads gushed all over Michelle Williams and her Oscar getup. But, I have a different opinion, although I love her to death just like everyone else does. Who wouldn’t? At Oscar, however, I expected more. I expected her to shake things up a bit, stop channeling Mia Farrow with the perfect blonde pixie ‘do (double yawn), and not just wear a substantially less attractive version of the dress she’s been wearing for about a year now. Sure, it’s a flattering hue on her, but do something different Michelle…I’m bored. I was especially disappointed with the look because she is being recognized for a movie about everybody’s favorite blonde bombshell. Lose the sweet, bring the sexy! 

And that’s a wrap…have your people call my people…or just leave a comment below. 🙂 

Leave a Reply

