5 Best Beauty Buys Around (Or Under!) $5

Standard

The post I did awhile back on 10 Best Beauty Buys Under $10 has been a surprisingly big hit–as in numbers of hits. That tells me that you, like me, would like to keep the buzz on beauty bargains alive and fresh. I’ve learned over the years that some of the best beauty tips, as well as consumer tips, tend to come from friends. Advertising for products may be persuasive and highly convincing that this or that product is the one for you. They pay a lot of people a lot of money for that. Marketing is also a science and there is quite a bit of research behind making all of us buy things…or think that we can’t live without things. But, like I said, the best recommendations come from average people, with average budgets practicing the fine art of girl talk (or guy talk, as the case may be). 

So…here are a few little inexpensive beauty products that I really do love and use all the time. If you have one you’d like to share with me and any readers who happen to stumble on my blog, please do so in the comment section! I have purchased all of the products below for either exactly $5 or under. As you know, some retailers gouge, so it pays to shop around to get the best buys on your favorite brands. 

Maybelline Great Lash Clear Mascara For Lash and Brow

I use this as an eyebrow fixative. I have…er…substantial brows which, even with a religious tweezing ritual, are unruly to say the least. Not unlike the person they belong to. This stuff is amazing! I’ve tried other brow waxes and such, some expensive. This one works very well. I smooth it on every day, then use an eyebrow brush (a specially set aside toothbrush works just as well) and I can get through an entire day without looking like Andy Rooney. As much as I loved Andy, and admired him journalistically speaking, I do not want his eyebrows! Unlike some brands, this formula does not flake off either–it stays put and looks great.

Burt’s Bees Honey Lip Balm

Everyone probably knows by now (or maybe they don’t) that you should always use a natural ingredient lip balm. Using the ones with artificial ingredients can actually make chapped lips worse, which is obviously counter productive. My choice for combating dry lips is Burt’s Bees lip balms, which come in a variety of flavors and formulations, all natural. My favorite is the honey–it smells good, and is sort of rough on the surface, thus somewhat exfoliating too. Honey is also naturally moisturizing!

Garnier Expert Exfoliator Daily Exfoliating Gel 

 

I’m actually a big fan of a lot of Garnier products…they seem to make their share of quality items for less. This facial cleanser is no exception! It’s been out for awhile now, so I’m not sure why they are still calling it “New”, but it is a superior daily facial wash. It’s a scrub but is not harsh at all, and it has a cooling, tingly effect. And, it’s a scrub that you can use every day according to Garnier. So, if you’re like me and love the glow you get from a scrub, but need a gentle one–give it a try! 

Bath & Body Works Body Lotion

Over the last few years I’ve really gotten into Bath and Body Works products! They’re always adding new fragrances, and have such a wide variety of different scents that I know you can find one you love too. Their lotions and creams are exceptional, I think, and are very moisturizing without being greasy or overly fragranced. I have a few favorites like the one pictured here, White Citrus. This 3 oz. travel sized lotion retails for $5 but I can honestly say that I’ve never paid full price for it, or anything else at Bath & Body Works. That’s my tip–sign up for their coupons and wait for their specials because they run so many of them. Paying full price at BB & W is just silly! 

Revlon Nail Enamel

In my last bargain beauty blog, I featured Revlon lipstick and a different nail enamel. This stuff is just as good, if not better than Revlon lipstick. It goes on smoothly and beautifully, probably thanks to the perfectly sized brush, is highly chip proof, and comes in literally every color in the rainbow. Almost all of my nail polishes are Revlon. Honestly, it really is just not worth it to buy the pricier salon brands when you can get everything you need in these colorful little bottles with the signature black cap. I’m wearing “Pink Freeze” now, but am going to switch to my all time favorite, “Frankly Scarlett” this weekend–just in time for Valentine’s Day…:-) 

With the exception of the Bath & Body Works lotion, all these products are widely available at any drug, grocery, or WalMart and Target stores. To purchase Bath & Body Works products online, click here: Bath & Body Works

Happy Saving! 

Leave a Reply

