5 Women of Style…Iconic Because They Made their Own

Standard

A lot of the stylish women featured in magazines, both entertainment and fashion, are listed as such because they follow fashion trends set by others, and look great doing it. That’s an accomplishment, I suppose, but the style icons that really interest me are those who march to the beat of their own drum and develop their own style. The ordinary women who pull this off are never brought to our attention, unless we know them personally, but here are a few of my all time favorites that I think you’ll recognize…

STEVIE NICKS

Why She’s Iconic: Because she took a few different looks, and melded them into her own unique signature style…Always ethereal, slightly mysterious, and cool–to this day! 

Click here to watch the ladies of The Talk interview Stevie about how her unique look was inspired, and has evolved. Stevie talks style around 19 minutes into this full episode, and sings at the end so it’s well worth watching the whole thing.  

Stylish Quote: “I think they all went too far. Their jeans got too low, their tops got too see-through. Personally, I think that sexy is keeping yourself mysterious. I’m really an old-fashioned girl, and I think I’m totally sexy”.

COCO CHANEL

Why She’s Iconic: She made sophisticated, simple, and elegant an always acceptable style option for women. You can never go wrong with a Chanel-esque look…this was true in her heyday, and will never go out of fashion. 

Coco Chanel on Biography.com 

Stylish Quote: “A girl should be two things: classy and fabulous”. 

MADONNA




Why She’s Iconic: Madonna’s unique style literally symbolizes the 80’s. We’re glad a lot of it is permanently lost to that decade, hopefully never to return, but say what you will–this woman was definitely a style trendsetter who played by her own rules. 

Madonna, The Early Years, Singing “Borderline”  

Stylish Quote: “I am my own experiment. I am my own work of art.” 

CLEOPATRA

Why She’s Iconic: Let’s face it, who knows exactly what she looked like? However, Cleopatra is and always will be a well known fashion icon, emulated still today. Any woman who can pull that off when no modern person ever even saw her deserves a place on this list! 

Here’s a fascinating article detailing a scientific study that found that Cleo’s infamous eye makeup was actually healthy–who knew? Cleopatra Eye Makeup 

Stylish Quote: “Be it known that we, the greatest, are misthought.” 

PRINCESS DIANA

Why She’s Iconic: Not for the reasons you’ve always heard…The late Princess Diana is a style icon in my book because of her successful style evolution, which mirrored her life. She evolved, matured, and found out who she really was over the years…And she took us all along for the ride. Her early years were filled with style bloopers, in my opinion, and she was responsible for me looking hideous more than once in big flouncy ruffles that were so not me, or her, for that matter. But, even when she was a world famous style icon who set trends all over the globe with her less than fashionable fashion, she demonstrated that quality that every style icon possesses–fearlessness. You can’t be truly stylish if you’re afraid to take a risk to express yourself! 

This is an article on the latest news of the ongoing auction of Diana’s famous dresses: Princess Diana 

Stylish Quote: “I like to be a free spirit. Some don’t like that, but that’s the way I am.” 

2 responses »

  1. Thanks for your comment at my blog today. I don’t leave a lot of comments of my own, but enjoy your varied and interesting posts. I particularly related to your recent one about deleting your Facebook account. That’s on my radar for the future, too, although not until my Google+ one is better established to take its place. As a writer I need to maintain online accessibility, but I have issues with FB’s privacy and the need to separate who sees which posts… something Google+ allows.

    I love your various takes on style here. I’ve never been a trend-follower, although not a trend-setter either. My clothing choices have certainly changed over the years, until I’ve finally settled on what makes me comfortable and satisfied. I think our lifestyles strongly influence our choices and how conventional we think we need to be. 🙂

    • Thank you, Carol! I feel very good without Facebook now…it really is an addiction for some people, and I finally admitted I was one of them. When I had it, I checked it compulsively throughout the day, thinking I couldn’t live without it. It sounds crazy, but I imagine addiction to just about everything shares some common characteristics. Glad to be rid of it! I’ve never felt quite the same way about Twitter–I can take it or leave it. So, that’s safe, I think. 🙂 I use that to network professionally and promote my blogs, but that’s about it.

      You are so right about lifestyle influencing style to a great extent…these women I featured had a lot more freedom to create their own looks as they saw fit, due to being artists of some sort or another, or extremely wealthy and powerful, in the case of Cleopatra and Diana. Of course, Diana, of all of them, was probably the most restricted, particularly when she was married. There were certain expectations placed on her to look a certain way, more conservative I suppose, and the way all her fans and “subjects” liked her to look. But, she made looks her own in little ways during those years. Like when she put the tiara around her forehead like that, wearing the royal jewels in a unique way (pictured). I think that we can all approach development of our own styles similarly, even if we are restricted in certain ways by professional or social conventions to look a certain way…a “uniform”, if you will.

      Thanks for reading!

Leave a Reply

