The Happy Hobbyist…

Standard

You know, there are a lot of articles online explaining why we should all pursue a hobby–no matter who we are…child, single adult, mom or dad, or senior citizen. According to all these folks who tout the virtues of having a hobby (or a few of them) we can all benefit! There is a consensus among all these folks that hobbies…

  • Relax and energize us at the same time…
  • Keep our minds active in a way that is healthy for the human brain…
  • Provide potential career opportunities, either by actually turning our hobby into a career, or meeting others interested in the same hobby who can help further our careers…
  • Relieve chronic stress…
  • Relieve boredom…

and…

  • Increase overall happiness! 

I also think that hobbies can…

  • Help us get to know ourselves a little better, and learn to openly express who we really are. 🙂 

To that end, I’ve taken up a new hobby recently (besides blogging). I’ve decided to learn to make my own jewelry! I want to learn to do some of the more complicated artisan type techniques, so I plan to take this class I found online at www.craftsy.com:

Jewelry Workshop: Bead, Wrap, Chain, and Etch

This will obviously be a hobby that I can develop over a lifetime, adding skills as I go along. However, that hasn’t stopped me from making things by simply coming up with a design and stringing a few beads…;-) 

In fact, I’ve managed to crank out a few kinda great, very wearable necklaces, and one bracelet…


This one was my very first, in which I learned to always string the beads up to the clasp for a more finished look…Live and learn when it comes to hobbies, I guess! 

Hopefully, one of these days if I keep at it, I’ll be able to tackle a complicated project like this one featured on the Michael’s website…

Who knows…this could even turn into a second career! I know I’d pay some $$$ for the finished turquoise and coral necklace above…

In the meantime, here’s to hobbies! Hobbies of all sorts, for all sorts of people with all sorts of interests.

If you’d like to find a new hobby for yourself, here’s a great quiz that can help you find one that suits your personality perfectly: Hobby-Personality Quiz 

And, an article on how to make it one that you’ll actually stick with: How to Find a Hobby You’ll Stick With.

 

 

Leave a Reply

