My Life Flashed Before My Eyes…In Technicolor Barbie

Standard

Like most girls growing up, I had a Barbie Doll…mine was the 70’s version, the blonde, tanned California Girl one. Of course, being dark haired and dark eyed and not from California, this did a number on my self image. But, I got over it…eventually.

These days Barbie has branched out, and recently I stumbled upon their Barbie Collector line…a fabulous assortment of pop culture and entertainment inspired dolls. And Holy Moly! My entire life, the t.v., movie, and musical part of it anyway, flashed before my eyes…

My mother was a big time Elvis fan…she and I would watch Elvis movies that ran on Saturday afternoon t.v. back when there were only 3 channels…

The Carol Burnett Show was a favorite of mine on Saturday nights…Nobody is funnier than her comedy team, and I don’t think I’ve ever laughed so hard at any comedy sketch as I did when I saw “Went With The Wind” for the first time…

Ahhh, the 80’s…the excess, the big hair, the catfights! On Dynasty, not in real life…well, I’ve always had big hair…

I did like to have fun! πŸ˜‰

This little gem of a movie led to leg warmers, off the shoulder t-shirts and a very unfortunate perm…

And present day…my favorite obsession! And the only real Victoria in my opinion…I’m still mad that they replaced her in Eclipse. 😦

To see the entire Barbie Collector pop culture collection, click here: Barbie Collector

Leave a Reply

