The Best 10 Beauty Buys For Under $10

Standard

These days the price of everything is going up…gas, groceries, you name it. So, we’re all looking to save where we can, but if you’re like me you are not willing to cheat yourself in the beauty department. Because, let’s face it, with the economy in the toilet, wars and unrest in the Middle East, and the stressful, busy lives we all lead, it feels good to look good! I’ve spent most of my life trying to save money on beauty products because here’s the little secret nobody tells you–most brands are way, way overpriced. Most of it is packaging, marketing, and hype–along with those celebrity spokesmodels who don’t work cheap. So, in the spirit of information sharing to help all us ladies look great for less, I’ve compiled a list of my ten absolute favorite beauty bargains.

Let’s all save some money on this stuff so we can afford to fill up our gas tanks, shall we?


1) Loreal Excellence Creme

I used to go to the salon every 5-6 weeks to have my hair colored, to the tune of $80, including tip each time–Ouch! There came a point in my family budget a couple of years ago when I faced the fact that I couldn’t justify that expense anymore. At first I tried going natural, but I missed my color. So, I tried different home hair coloring options, with less than satisfying results–until I tried this one. WOW! The colors are true, vibrant, resistant to fading, and pretty gentle on the hair. As if that wasn’t enough, the formula does not drip at all, and the comb applicator is fantastic for making sure you get the roots evenly. I can do this myself at home for under $10, and am just as happy with the results as my former salon color–probably more so because I can afford to keep the color really fresh by touching it up as often as needed.

2) Garnier Fructis Color Shield

This leave in product is magic–truly! Not only does it protect my color, but it conditions, and also acts as sort of a light gel to keep my hair in place. Love, love, LOVE!

3) Powdered Buttermilk

I kid you not, this is hands down the best facial mask ever! It lasts forever too. I just put a couple of tablespoons in a bowl and mix with a little milk from the fridge. Milk is excellent for your skin too…just put it on evenly and let it dry, then rinse it off with water. It’s moisturizing, exfoliating, and makes your skin glow…

4) Witch Hazel

There is no better astringent. Period. And you can just buy the inexpensive store brand too–it’s all the same.

5) Revlon Super Lustrous Lipstick

Honestly, it’s shocking just how good this lipstick is because it’s probably one of the most inexpensive you can buy. It is moisturizing, long lasting, and Revlon offers a wide variety of colors to suit everyone.

6) Nicole by OPI, for WalMart

You know how your manicurist won’t use anything but OPI because it really is the very best? Well, this is exactly the same stuff, made by OPI for WalMart. They have the same funky, fabulous colors, with all those great names, and the same formulation.

7) Garnier Skin Renew Anti Dark Circle Eye Roller

I can’t live without this–truly! It feels good going on (really cool and refreshing), has ingredients that help with under eye puffiness, and actually covers the dark circles with makeup.

8 ) Crest 3D Whitening Toothpaste

This new toothpaste from the makers of the original at home teeth whitening strips has done it again. This toothpaste works amazingly well at whitening your teeth if used daily, and it’s a lot cheaper than the strips!

9) Cover Girl Lash Blast Mascara

I am picky about mascara and I’ve tried all different brands, including those ultra pricey department store ones, and that tried and true model’s favorite, Maybelline. This is way better than any of them! It doesn’t clump, adds both length and volume to your lashes, and the brush is the best mascara brush EVER. I think the brush design has a lot to do with the smooth application.

10) Garnier Moisture Rescue Gel Moisturizer

WOW, what a find! There is no better way to save than to find a product that truly can multitask. This great moisturizer is in a cooling gel formula, is light and oil free, and when I use it, I don’t need my pricey makeup primer! If you have really, really dry skin you might need something heavier, but I think that this moisturizer is probably enough for most skin types.

Well, that’s it for now…here’s to beauty that doesn’t break the bank!

One response »

  1. Pingback: 5 Best Beauty Buys Around (Or Under!) $5 « wittybizgal

Leave a Reply

