Do New For Spring!

Standard


“God created toenails so we could keep trying new colors.” ~ Mary Foley, AKA @BodaciousMary

I don’t know about you, but I have always loved Spring! I am an impulsive sort, so I am attracted to rapid change, the birth of new ideas, off with the old, on with the new, etc. People have told me that I jump into new things too quickly and should take my time to test the waters, weigh the options, and proceed with caution. This is definitely good advice, and in my middle age, I do try to temper my impulsivity with a certain amount of looking before leaping. But, when Spring is in the air, I find that a lot of folks are feeling the same way I do 24/7, 365 days a year. There is a measure of permission granted to us by Mother Nature when She herself is undergoing transformation, to follow suit and try new things.

I read a great book a few years back called Do One Thing Different, by therapist Bill O’Hanlon. In it, he presents a unique problem solving technique which involves breaking patterns by first observing the sequence of events that always occurs when the negative thing happens, then altering just one minor thing in that sequence in order to disrupt the problem and solve it. I have used this method many times myself and have found it extremely effective in not only solving pesky problems, but also breaking ruts and renewing my well of energy and enthusiasm for life. The big takeaway for me with O’Hanlon’s proposed methodology is that changes (large and small) are impactful and necessary for our success and happiness in life.

Change is definitely in the air for me right now! I started a new blog, I became a first time grandmother, a reluctant but successful homeschooler, and I am beginning to make some meaningful contributions to a very worthwhile local nonprofit as a new board member. Those are all big changes, but the little changes I purposely make on a daily basis can take my mood from sad to happy, low energy to power surge, and so on…So, I guess what I am trying to say is that a little change can do you a lot of good, and now is the perfect time to try new things to problem solve, re-energize, break negative cycles, and so on.

Here are just a few innovative tiny, small, and medium Spring changes that can make a big difference:

  • Get a new haircut and/or color (this one requires some looking before leaping, lest you be boo-hooing and blaming WittyBizGal;-)
  • Clean out that junk drawer (we all have one)
  • Try a new nail color that stretches the limits of your comfort zone (mine in the photo is Crushed, from Sally Hansen–Muy Caliente!)
  • Find an exciting new volunteer opportunity in your area: http://www.volunteermatch.org/ (great searchable database of current openings)
  • Search the internet for a new recipe and make it for dinner tonight: http://www.recipe.com/
  • Move your living room or bedroom furniture around
  • Start your own blog (I’ve found the WordPress format to be super quick and easy! I impulsively signed up and wrote that first Charlie Sheen inspired blog in a grand total of about 3 hours one evening)
  • Take up a new hobby; This site seems to have the scoop on just about all of them: http://www.discoverahobby.com/

HAPPY SPRING CHANGE EVERYONE!

 


 


Leave a Reply

